Shopping Cart

Danny Krivit - 'Edits By Mr. K Vol. 2: Music Of The Earth' [CD]

Danny Krivit

Edits By Mr. K Vol. 2: Music Of The Earth



Price: $13.99
Premier price: $11.89
Premier members get 15% off every order, every day.


Product Details
  • Sep 07, 2010
  • Funk/ Jazz/ Soul
  • 730003306723
  • STRUT067CD
  • 2.0 oz
  • new (we only sell new items)
  • Strut Records
  • Mr. K
Strut re-kindle their involvement with one New York's most revered DJs and re-edit pioneers, Danny Krivit, with a fresh album of essential new, rare and classic re-works, past and present. An acknowledged leader in New York clubland for many years, Krivit learned his craft through a series of early residencies, including a four-year stretch at The Roxy as hip hop came downtown from the Bronx during the mid '70s. Throughout the '80s, he was then often DJ-ing six nights a week at seminal nightspots like Area, Danceteria, Save The Robots and more. Since then, he is perhaps best known for his residency at the legendary Body & Soul parties from the inception in 1996 alongside Francois Kevorkian and Joe Claussell, a calling card that has kept him an in-demand DJ globally as club-goers gravitate towards his unique blend of emotive soulful house, disco and Afro sounds. The party has continued in Brooklyn and Manhattan, with Krivit's 718 Sessions now a regular fixture of New York's club diary. As a producer, Krivit is the acknowledged "King Of The Edit" and has been a major influence on today's re-edit culture. From early classics like the 'Feelin' James' and 'Rock The House' JB cut-ups during the mid-'80s, he has released over 300 unique versions, often under the mysterious 'Mr. K' moniker. After releasing a batch of his finest edits on the 'Edits By Mr. K' compilation in 2003, Strut now delve back into the tape cupboard for an all-new edition, bringing together some of Krivit's secret weapons in a wide-ranging selection covering soulful disco, funk and jazz. Tracks include in-demand Krivit rarities including his previously unreleased re-work of Black Blood's Afro-rock rarity 'Chicano', the revival of a soulful Patrice Rushen sleeper, 'Music Of The Earth' and an extended workout on the Chairmen Of The Board's psychedelic soul classic, 'Life & Death'.
Track Listing