Shopping Cart

<!--120060703000870-->The Cheebacabra - 'Exile In The Woods' [CD]

The Cheebacabra

Exile In The Woods




Product Details
  • Jul 03, 2006
  • Funk/ Jazz/ Soul
  • 691891001322
  • CDB5637247016CD
  • 2.8 oz
  • new (we only sell new items)
  • The Cheebacabra
From sinister to sexy, robotic to playful, the sound of 'Exile In The Woods' is undeniably unique and unforgivingly funky. Tight drums consistently hold down these instrumental, analog synth-heavy grooves. Half of the album's twelve musicians are credited with synthesizers, including bandleader/producer Cheeba, Money Mark (Beastie Boys), Steve Moore (Sufjan Stevens), and Aja West (The Mackrosoft). A wide array of more organic instruments are featured as well, including trumpet, violin, sax, clavinet, guitar, and melodica. Also of note is Peter Scherr of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra on upright bass. The first Cheebacabra album, "Metamorphosis", was released in 2003 to critical acclaim. Filter Magazine placed it on a "Best Records of 2003" list and Nic Harcourt of KCRW spun it on his "Best of 2003" radio program. Now, returning with "Exile In The Woods", The Cheebacabra continues on it's path of releasing quality funk fusion music accompanied by beautiful, fantastical artwork. This time around, the cover painting is by world renowned zoologist/author Desmond Morris ("The Naked Ape"). Recorded in Seattle, Los Angeles, and Hong Kong.
Track Listing