Shopping Cart

Various Artists - 'Secret Hangout EP' [(Black) Vinyl EP]

Various Artists

Secret Hangout EP

Black Vinyl

Vinyl EP Record

Price: $9.99
Premier price: $8.49
Premier members get 15% off every order, every day.

Get emailed if/when back in stock

Product Details
When was the last time you picked up a compilation where every track was memorable and unique... with the artwork to match? Drawing inspiration from MoWax's legendary Headz compilations, Money Studies introduces the first Secret Hangout EP. For the series debut, Money Studies has tapped the members of its highly-regarded inner circle and asked each for their finest tracks. The names here are, for the most part, already well-established DJs, but for the first time, you'll get a glimpse of what they've been brewing in their home studios. Adding its own twist, Money Studies has split the 12", so that one side features the uptempo club stuff and the other features downtempo beats. First up, Blu Jemz (under the alias Pocket Checkers with Ter Kahn) delivers the massively catchy club track "2 O'Clock." This is already reaching anthem status in LA (where Jemz is one of the top DJs) and was an instant hit at WMC. Eggfooyoung, member of the Secret Frequency Crew, contributes "Up It," a bubbling concoction of Miami Bass, electro and Baltimore club styles. Finishing up the first side are Turntable Lab Radio hosts Snack & C'mish, who present the ultimate crowd pleaser (and MySpace hit), "Young MD" (which samples the theme from, yes, 'Doogie Howser.') Here comes the ambulance! The second side takes a stylistic turn with "Degasse" by another big left coast DJ, The Gaslamp Killer. This is throwback downtempo at its best: a mean bass loop, hard drums and dark overtones. Next, Blu Jemz makes his second appearance in the Hangout with "Turn Away." This is one of his most edgy productions yet, part afro-beat, part future soul. Whatever it is, play it late at night in a dark basement. Lastly, established downtempo producer Eliot Lipp (Hefty, Eastern Developments) reveals his new electro style with the well-lubricated "Slow & Smooth." Features an impressive cover illustration by Noah Butkus.
Track Listing & Audio